Art Focus: Jack O Lantern Attack Run

Late 2012, Lucasfilm LTD tapped me to create 12 brand new paintings for the official Star Wars Style Guide. The style Guide is a data base that all officially licensed Star Wars merchandisers can choose art or photo graphs to use for their products like T-SHirts, Greeting Cards, Wrapping Paper… really anything. Potentially all of these official Holidays illustrations can be all over the place for Halloween and Christmas 2013 and beyond! Pretty Cool huh?

Today’s Art Focus is on my Illustration called “Jack O Lantern Attack Run”.

This piece kind of came to me in a flash. I obviously wanted to use a Jack O Lantern somewhere in these Haloween Illustrations, but I didn’t want it to be obvious or the smae old thing. I did a ton of thumbnail ideas around the Jack Lantern, and this one just jumped into my head. The Final Attack Run scene in Star Wars: A New Hope. I’d never drawn this scene, so why not make the Death Star a Jack O lantern?

Simple, to the point, and a well balanced composition. Sometimes a good idea doesn;t have a huge back story, it just happenes!

Jack O Lantern Attack Run
Not Available for purchase

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

