Art Focus: Dancing Skeleton Clones

Late 2012, Lucasfilm LTD tapped me to create 12 brand new paintings for the official Star Wars Style Guide. The style Guide is a data base that all officially licensed Star Wars merchandisers can choose art or photo graphs to use for their products like T-SHirts, Greeting Cards, Wrapping Paper… really anything. Potentially all of these official Holidays illustrations can be all over the place for Halloween and Christmas 2013 and beyond! Pretty Cool huh?

Today’s Art Focus is on my Illustration called “Dancing Skeleton Clones”.

Growing up I used to love decorating for Halloween. The Fake cobwebs, Jack O Lanterns, gravestones, everything. One of the most iconic decorations for me was the cut out sketetons that you could pose in all kinds of positions. I always made them dancing, probably inspired by old black and white cartoons of dancing skeletons. When I was hired to create Halloween inspired art for Star Wars my mind went directly to the skeletons. So I plopped a Clone Trooper helmet on him and that was it. At first it was just the one clone skeleton, but the art director suggested doing a group of them as we have done here. It really added to that DANCE feel, like A chorus line. As an unexpected bonus, it kind of resembles the dancing skeletons of teh Greatfull dead! Would loveto see this as wrapping paper!

Halloween Boba Fett
Original Line Art Available for sale. Contact me using the form below for details.

9 X 12 Ink on Bristol

 

dancing clone skeletons-web

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

