Art Focus: Christmas Vader

Late 2012, Lucasfilm LTD tapped me to create 12 brand new paintings for the official Star Wars Style Guide. The style Guide is a data base that all officially licensed Star Wars merchandisers can choose art or photo graphs to use for their products like T-SHirts, Greeting Cards, Wrapping Paper… really anything. Potentially all of these official Holidays illustrations can be all over the place for Halloween and Christmas 2013 and beyond! Pretty Cool huh?

Today’s Art Focus is on my Illustration called “Christmas Vader”.

This piece was a repurposed concept I had creatd back in 2003 when I was doing gag Cartoons for the Star Wars Insider. That Gag, never got used, so I thought I would dust it off and throw it in with my first batch of concept sketches. The only difference was that Vader was originally Darth Maul. The Joke really being that Darth Mauls horns had grown into Antlers. Funny right? But for what ever reason, Lucasfilm did not want to use Darth Maul in any of the Christmas art I would be creating. So, I said, well, why don’t we use Darth Vader instead?  They said sure. It’s still funny, and the Concept is there. I’ll just forever be curious as to why they didn’t want Darth Maul in anything… Things that make you go Hmmm?

This was the only fully Digital piece that I created for the Christmas series. It just seemes to work better in this style.

Christmas Vader


Not Available for Purchase

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

 

 

 

 

