Art Focus: AT-AT Reindeer Sleigh

Late 2012, Lucasfilm LTD tapped me to create 12 brand new paintings for the official Star Wars Style Guide. The style Guide is a data base that all officially licensed Star Wars merchandisers can choose art or photo graphs to use for their products like T-SHirts, Greeting Cards, Wrapping Paper… really anything. Potentially all of these official Holidays illustrations can be all over the place for Halloween and Christmas 2013 and beyond! Pretty Cool huh?

Today’s Art Focus is on my Illustration called “AT-AT Reindeer Sleigh”.

Okay, the Title isn;t all that exciting, but I wanted to let the art work speek for itself… Okay, I just couldn;t come up with a fun title:)
I’ve always wanted to paint a night Snow Scene of some sort. I love the Blue tone the Moon makes on everything, so I took ths opportunity to create a kind of “Night before Christmas” painting, but of Star Wars. Originally, I had the AT-AT’s in full gallope, like real reindeer. But Lucasfilm felt fans would not understand the joke. The only real head scratcher was whether or not to put a Santa Hat and Santa Coat on Darth Vader.  We decided it made it too Slapstick, especially if we weren’t going to be making the AT-ATs Gallope. It was the right decision because it’s a mild humor piece, that is more about the tone, and the emotion.

AT-AT Reindeer Sleigh
18 X 12 Acrylic on Illustration Board.
Available for purchase (Please contact me for pricing by using the form below)

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

Official Star Wars Holiday Art ©LucasfilmLTD

