Batman: Legacy

Batman-LegacyBatman was always one of my MUST DO paintings for this Legacy Series, but I wanted to make sure I got the mood just right, so I held off doing a Batman painting to ponder on how to best portrait the dark knight. After thinking for months about who Batman is, what he represents, and the multitudes of villains, I kept coming back to the Joker. Not only is the Joker one of the most popular characters in COmics history, but If I’m going to paint Batman I have to start by explaining the two sides of Batman. The Joker is a living symbol of the madness that lies just a across a think line in Batmans mind. Batman and Joker are essentially two sides of the same coin, and it’s a fasiniating relationship they have had in the comics for a long while. It was for that reason that the comic book collage behind Batman is 100% images of the Joker. To go the extra mile, I collected a bunch of Real Joker cards from packs of playing cards. I felt, the Joker wouldn’t order a bunch of Joker cards that look the same, he is crazy enough that he would go and steal the Joker cards from packs of playing cards.

Batman: Legacy
18 X 24
Acrylic and Comic Book Collage on Clayboard.

