New Spiderman Art

Image

Spiderman Art by Artist Randy Martinez

Hey True Believers (Thats my Favorite Stan Lee Quote)!

I just finished up this new Spiderman piece, just in time for COmic Con.

Spiderman is one of my all time favorite Comic Book Characters, so it’s no wonder when it comes to Superheroes, I tend to draw and paint old Web head the most.

To me what really makes Spidey Spidey is his adversaries. Of all the Comic Book super heroes out there can you name any one super hero that has more enemies and super villains than Spiderman? But they are not just bad guys, these villains absolutely HATE Spiderman. Which I think adds to the attraction of the Spiderman character. Sometimes in life we feel like the whole world is against us, so I think we relate to Spiderman in terms of always fighting off the bad guys. But in our lives, the bad guys are teachers, or bills, or your boss… or what ever gives us a splitting head ache:) Spidey is a hero to us because he takes on the bad guys, over and over again, and he always defeats them. So in a way, when I was a kid reading Spiderman comics, Spidey gave me hope that I could defeat my own enemies and adversities. So Spiderman truly was/is one of my heroes.

In this painting I wanted exploit the weight that Spiderman carries with him at all times. The multitudes of evil characters and personalities that have structured his history. Of course Spiderman shines through, but even after they have been defeated the bad guys energy resinates with him forever. As much as Spidermans enemy’s are his polar opposite they are all a part of who he is.

Color is a very important part of this piece too. Green represents ANTI-Spiderman if you will. In the early years of spiderman, most of Spidermans greatest foes wore Green Costumes. Doctor Octopus, the Green Goblin, The Scorpion, The Vulture, Sand man wore a green shirt, Dr. Doom, Electro, Lizard, Mysterio, the Jackel and even the Cameleon wore Green. Obviously, in the early days of comics they were limited in the colors they could use, but I think GREEN was used intentionally. Spiderman is Red and Blue, naturally his adversaries need to contrast Spidey’s bold colors. Of Course Kraven, and Shocker wore yellow based costumes, but GREEN against Spiderman’s Red and Blue just seemed more confrontational. Like magnets repelling one another.

Badies featured are…

Dr. Doom, Vulture, Man-Wolf,J. Jonah Jameson, Hob Goblin, Doctor Octopus, Scorpion, Lizard, Morbius, Venom, Electro, Shocker, The Green Goblin, Sandman, Chameleon, Carnage, Kraven The Hunter, Rhino, Mysterio.

12 X 16 Acrylic on Canvas

Available for Purchase. Contact me for details.

